“Keep Your Eyes on God.”

Yesterday my grandmother’s church had its homecoming and honored those who had passed away over the past year.  My grandfather’s name was on the list of those to be honored, and thus it was important to my grandmother that family attend with her.  I was sitting beside her and the guest preacher inspired me.  I found myself with this deep message running through my head that I wanted to convey in a blog.  Unfortunately, the freshness of the message in my mind had faded by the time I got home last night.  I will try to express this message to the best of my recollection now that I have had a reasonable amount of sleep.  The preacher said to “Keep your eyes on God.”  He mentioned, although not in exact words, how our sight focuses on the chaos of the world when we take our eyes off of God.  I know that we also tend to drive ourselves crazy worrying about personal problems when we take our eyes off God.  Now let me say that this blog caters to people of different paths.  I do not identify as a Christian, but there is a Christian influence on my beliefs.  For those of you who do not share that influence, just think of this message as one about the importance of staying true to your spiritual path.  Time to get back on track.  It can be easy to get distracted from regular spiritual practice by our daily lives.  We can go extended periods of time without prayer or meditation and remain quite happy.  Then….BLAM!  Something happens that shakes us and brings us to misery.  That is often when a person goes back to their spiritual practice.  This shows that spiritual practice is comforting and nourishes our souls to health.  The question is, “Is it better to just eat a bunch of junk food and take medicine when you get sick or to eat healthy food to prevent sickness (or at least strengthen the body’s ability to fight sickness off when it occurs)?”  I think most of us know that the latter is better for us.  However, many of us live our lives according to the first option.  I am not going to lie:  I am one of those people.  Due to circumstance, it is much easier to just eat whatever is convenient and take medicine when I need it.  I hope that eventually I will be able to get settled into a much healthier diet.  Working on my spiritual health is something I can work on regularly though with little expense and no inconvenience.  The great thing about spiritual practice is that it is so versatile.  You just figure out what nurtures your soul and do those activities.  You don’t have to strictly adhere to teachings of an established religion.  You could pray to God or Goddess.  You could sit outside and observe the beauty of Mother Earth.  You could dedicate a journal for writing letters to Source.  You could belly dance because it makes you feel alive and in touch with your feminine power.  You could paint to create beauty when your are not seeing much beauty around you.  The list goes on and on.  By taking part in the practices that best nourish our souls, by keeping our eyes on God, we are able to focus on the goodness around us and within ourselves.  Most of us will have our moments of weakness even with regular spiritual practice, but it certainly seems that regular spiritual practice helps a person to bounce back faster.  That is because these practices help us to recognize what we need to do to get out of our heads when that is necessary and how to search deep within our minds when that is necessary.  The payoff resonates in our appreciation for a sunny sky and the realization that a storm should be appreciated as well.  For storms cleanse the air, hydrate the earth, and make way for rainbows.   Blessed be you and yours.

Leave a Reply

