Sacred Space and Blue Moon Magick

I have been busy the past couple of days preparing for Blue Moon magickal workings.  This meant I had to put time and energy into making my bedroom feel like a more sacred space since it is my sanctuary.  A person can have spiritual experiences in a messy environment, but the annoyance of too much clutter can be a bother.  I threw out trash, changed the arrangement of my furniture, vacuumed, and did some organizing.  It is still not the tidiest bedroom in existence, but it is better suited for my spiritual practice.

I found out tonight, now yesterday actually, that the Blue Moon technically becomes full Friday morning (this morning).   The energy and timing felt right, so I decided to proceed with the ritual.  I didn’t have an outline prepared for what kind of ritual would be done.  I just went with the flow.  I made myself a cup of tea with honey and some crackers with cheddar cheese to help maintain my energy while I worked magick.  I suspected it could take a while.  I thought I might use my tarot cards, but I did not.  (Perhaps I will use my tarot deck later today).  I did not meditate.  I did not even do a spell.  I intended to do a spell, but that is not what I was moved to do.  Instead I called a conference.  Yes, a conference.  I smudged the room with my lovely yellow rose incense, lit my working candle, said a prayer for protection and blessing, and called a conference with my spiritual tribe and the spiritual tribe of someone very important to me.  I felt like a spiritual businesswoman; an executive with a mild psychic gift.  “Alright crew, we have some issues to work on.  Does anybody have any input on how to make progress?”  This is not exactly how I planned to put my business degree to use.  😉

I opened up my spiritual journal and picked up a pencil.  It was time to take notes.  First I started the page with the date and information about the type of ritual I was doing.  As I was finishing that up, I saw a little dime-sized black spider on the wall.  It appeared to be lowering itself from behind my mirror.  My initial reaction was not “Yay, a spider!  I love spiders!”  I can promise you that.  As I contemplated smooshing it and flushing it down the toilet, I realized smooshing a creature in a space I had just declared sacred might be in poor taste.  I said a quick prayer to calm my nerves about the spider and realized it was a message or messenger.  I have been studying shamanic witchcraft, so it seems quite fitting that I get a message in the form of an animal.  Considering that mirrors are thought by some to be a portal for spirits and are also a tool for reflection, the spider coming out from under the mirror gave the message some extra pizzazz.  I believe that was my spirit tribe’s way of assuring me that seeing that spider at that time was not a coincidence.  I looked up the spider’s messages, and they really hit home.

After writing down the messages for my guidance, I felt I needed a little break before receiving messages for my loved one.  I decided to watch a few YouTube videos.  I watched a couple of amusing videos and then clicked on a video by The Lovely Little Witch.  I almost clicked off of it because I didn’t quite feel like watching the video at that time, but an inner nagging sensation told me not to click off of it.  I had an “Oh alright” moment and watched the video.  The tribes in the conference used The Lovely Little Witch as another messenger.  Her video addressed both me and my loved one.  Surprise, surprise.  I have the messages written in my journal now and it is approaching dawn.  I couldn’t just go to sleep after the conference came to a close.  Oh no.  The spider called me to write.  The spider is the guide of creativity and written expression.  The spider is a totem to those who “weave magic with the written word.”  So here I am, weaving together words about magick.  How subtle.  :-p

How can a spider with a message about writing not make a person think of Charlotte?

Something I want to make clear to newbie witches is that magick doesn’t have to feel like an electrical charge.  It doesn’t necessarily make you feel witchy or powerful (at least not in a mighty sorceress sort of way).  It can be quite subtle.  Being a witch involves so much study partially so that we can recognize signs when they are shown to us.  We can see messages that others are blind to.  Do not feel discouraged if magick does not show itself to you in an obvious way.  Study and open your eyes wider.  Blessed be y’all.

One thought on “Sacred Space and Blue Moon Magick

Leave a Reply

