35 Witchy Questions Tag

I noticed a 77 Witchy Questions tag on YouTube.  I thought it would be fun to do if narrowed down.  So, here goes:

1. Do you feel you have natural gifts such as (premonitions, hearing spirits) and if so do you think this is what led you to this path?  I may be clairsentient, but I do not think that led me to my path.
2. What deity do you work with if any and why? I work with God and Goddess. I believe in Them and trust Them.
3. Have you always worked with this same deity? I grew up knowing about God and praying to Him, but Goddess came to my attention probably in my late teenage years.
4. Do you do past life readings and have you ever had one done? I have never done a past life reading or had one done.
5. What is/are your favorite magical tool(s)? Crystals and my journal.
6. Where is the most magical place you have ever been? For me, basically any places with moving bodies of water are super magickal. When I say moving bodies of water, I mean creeks, rivers, waterfalls, or the ocean.
7. What animal is your familiar if any? I do not have an animal familiar. I find it counterproductive to magickal workings to have to deal with the annoyances of a cat sniffing around my candle flame or trying to lie down on my tarot spread.  This has turned me away from the idea of an animal familiar.
8. If you have a familiar, did you choose them or did they choose you? Although not an animal, I lean toward a crystal being my familiar. I ordered it from eBay. When I took it out of the box it was in, the thought popped into my head that it could be/is my familiar and was the first crystal (after years of collecting) that I have ever felt the desire to name. I suppose we chose eachother. I have only ever really contemplated naming one other crystal, and that is the smokey herkimer (or quartz) that I recently got.
9. What in the craft are you best at? I do not know. I still have so much exploring and learning to do before I can answer that.
10. What in the craft would you say you are weaker at? Plenty. Although I have leaned torward the craft for probably at least half of my life, my spiritual path has not been particularly smooth or consistent. So much information is new to me.
11. What is your most favorite part of your craft? Feeling connected to God and Goddess, as well as nature. The comfort that comes along with that is wonderful beyond words.
12. What was the first purchased tool you ever got? A brass (or brass toned) incense holder with a pentacle on it. I got it from the first new age store I had ever visited when I was probably 15.
13. What was the first craft tool you ever made? A wand or a make-shift Ouija board/spirit board when I was a teen or preteen. I am yet to find a use for wands in my practice, and I don’t use a spirit board.
14. Do you use astrology in your practice?  I do not.  I found astrology interesting when I was growing up though. I particularly found the personality correspondences interesting.
15. What, if any, ways could you practice dark magic and still respect the beliefs of Wicca?  Magick in itself is not light or dark. Like a knife, it can be used as a tool to help a person or as a weapon to harm a person. It depends on the knowledge and the intention of the person using it. However, since the term “dark magick” refers to the use of magick to create something negative, I don’t think you can use it with respect to Wicca. Wiccans believe that magick should be used to “harm none”. Wiccans also believe in the rule of three. I do not consider myself Wiccan, but I also believe in this. A person using magick with ill will would have to be accepting of the fact that their ill intentions will come back to them amplified. Thus they would harm others and themselves.
16. Do you have any other witches in your family? Not that I am aware of.
17. What item can you not witch without? I don’t need any item to be witchy.
18. Do you have a favorite time of day to do spell work? If so, why?  Yes. I prefer to do spell work before it gets dark outside. I suppose I like having the illumination of the sun.
19. Are you solitary or do you work with a coven? I am solitary.
20. If you could pick a certain witchcraft tradition that fits your practice most what would it be? I am eclectic, but I seem to be going more and more toward shamanic witchcraft.
21. What was the most creative spell you have ever done, and what did you use?  I will be honest, my spells are really simple. I just write them on a sheet of paper and then either burn them, fold them around a crystal, or place them under a crystal. If I want nature spirits involved, I might leave the paper open and place it on a windowsill. I am also likely to read aloud what I have written before leaving it wherever I am going to place it.
22. What do you prefer to use for divination? Tarot cards. This is only going to work for me though if I really like the specific deck I am using. I also have been taking note of the messages related to different animals.
23. What do you do to ground yourself? The primary way I ground myself is to eat and/or drink something. I also might hold a grounding crystal, go into child’s pose, or visualize that I have roots going into the earth.
24. Have you ever had a spell go horribly wrong? Considering that I abide by the rule of 3 (essentially karma), no.
25. What are your opinions on initiation rituals? I do not know much about them.
26. How do you handle rejection from a fellow witch that refuses to do a reading or spell for you? I don’t ask other witches to do spells for me. I don’t feel that they can apply the emotional charge that I can for a spell that serves me or one of my loved ones. My spells are personal and I wouldn’t ask a witch for help with one unless we were close friends. I have only ever had another person do a reading for me once. She was paid to give me a tarot reading (before I learned how to use tarot), so there was no rejection.
27. Do you think it is necessary to cast a circle when you do spell work or any magickal working? I think it is necessary to have some type of ritual for protection before doing spell work. I don’t think it has to be a circle casting ritual. One could simply pray. Smudging could also be used. I personally use prayer, but have used smudging in tandem.
28. What is your general practice for meditation? Guided meditation and active meditation seem to be what work best for me.  I have made a habit of sitting by an open window or on a porch and observing nature.  When something in particular stands out for me, I take note of it and contemplate its message.
29. When and how did you know you wanted to be on this path? I probably knew in my young teen years. I was, and still am, drawn to the paranormal, mystical, and magickal. It probably doesn’t hurt that most of the witches I have seen (even misrepresented witches in works of fiction) are empowered women.
30. What candle color do you use most? As far as magick goes, I currently only use a working candle. It happens to be the sort of yellow color of an antique book page.
31. What area would you like to see your craft grow in? Shamanism.
32. What is your preference, to buy or make your tools? That depends on what it is. I think finding tools in nature should also be an option. I don’t have the skill set to make a cauldron, so I bought one. Most of my crystals were purchased because it is easier to buy them than to find them out in nature. My wands have been made out of sticks that were found around the property I live on. I just go with whatever is practical.
33. What is your favorite candle and/or incense scent for magical purposes? I think I prefer unscented candles for magick. The only incense I use is my Primo brand yellow rose incense. I’d like to try some of Primo’s other scents eventually. I use this kind because it has an amazing sweet smell that is not overbearing and the smoke does not give me a headache or cause breathing problems for me.  Also, it helps create a peaceful energy in the room.
34. Would you ever teach the craft? Yes. I have blog posts that serve that purpose.
35. What are your totem animals? Frankly, this is tricky for me. I am trying to learn the difference between the types of animal allies in shamanic practice. I used to think my totem was the cougar and/or panther. However, according to Gerry Starnes, your totem is the animal that represents who you are. This leads me to believe that cougar and panther might actually be my journey or protector animal spirits.  The spider seems to be the animal most representative of me.

Now that you have read my answers, I hope some of you other witches will respond with your own answers.  You can share them on your blog and let me know about it with a comment on here.  Another option is to comment on this blog with your answers if you prefer.   🙂  Blessed be, y’all.

Leave a Reply

