A Confusing Dream

Yesterday was my birthday and Mother’s Day. I don’t know if it was by coincidence or was significant that I had this dream the morning following that double occasion. Sometimes I have dreams in which I think I have woken up and I am trying to get out of bed but find that I have not actually moved (physically) even though I felt myself moving. Basically it is like I am trying to get up for the day but my physical body is still sleeping and my astral body is sitting up separate from it and then going back into it over and over. It can be a little frustrating. This part of the dream is not what was confusing.

This time the dream came to a point in which it took a different turn from the typical dream I have. I realized in it I was projecting and felt that I needed to go with it instead of keep trying to wake up. It wasn’t the smoothest transition to full astral projection, but I was able to do it. I felt that I needed to break through a barrier (or a wall of thin barriers) and that the Goddess was waiting on the other side of that barrier. I made my way through and there She was. She was sitting on a throne I think. I believe She was wearing a dress similar to what we see in paintings of the Madonna (but it was more colorful like a kimono), and I believe She was wearing a hood and/or headpiece. As I approached, I noticed Her face kept changing from one beautiful form to another to represent different races and ethnicities. I was in awe and excited because I have never directly encountered Her in a dream. I have only ever felt Her presence in my life or envisioned Her in a meditation. The scene quickly changed to Her shutting a door in front of my face as I pleaded to know Her name and she seemed annoyed. I walked away from the door disheartened and went to my bed to lay down. There I was somehow comforted by a voice I could not understand.

I awoke confused. The Goddess as I have come to know Her would not shut me out. I don’t know why she would have been annoyed by me asking to know Her name. I have perceived Her (and still do) as being very patient and loving. I would have been satisfied in the dream with an answer as simple as Mother. It seemed that the voice comforting me was either directly from Her or from a being She sent to comfort me. I do not know if this dream has true spiritual significance, was a way for my psyche to work something out, or started out spiritual and then my psyche interfered. If anybody has potentially helpful insights, I would be interested to read them.

Leave a Reply

