The Multipurpose Room

I was inspired by Honey Lune Hivery who posted about Feng Shui tips for studio apartments.  It got me thinking about how a people often tend to multipurpose a room (especially their bedrooms) even if they don’t live in a studio apartment.  They might live in tiny home.  More commonly the reason for a multi purpose room seems to be because they need space away from housemates or apartment mates.  Think about how many teenagers practically reside in their bedrooms.  They need that space away from their siblings sometimes to keep them from strangling each other.  My bedroom used to be more of a multipurpose room.  After a family member moved out years ago, I made his room my walk in closet.  Now that walk in closet is also my computer room and art room.  My bedroom is as its name states, but it is also my sacred space with my altar and metaphysical books.  I like the change furniture layouts and decor placement maybe one a year or so.  That means my room has gone through many changes and I’ve learned some things about creating a multi-use personal space.  I have surely picked up ideas from other sources throughout the years as well.  In this post, I am going to list some suggestions for creating a multipurpose bedroom that does not feel too chaotic.

  1.  Figure out your priorities for the space before you start changing things.  Do you spend more time asleep in the room or more time awake in the room?  If you use the room primarily for sleeping, you might want to designate the majority of the room for making it feel like a bedroom.  If you only sleep 6 hours per night and spend more time using your room as an office, you probably want to designate more space in the room for that purpose.  Those are just some of the examples of how to go about figuring out your priorities for the room.
  2.  Create a plan for your furniture placement before your start moving it around.  Unless you really enjoy moving furniture, this can prevent you from moving furniture around only to realize things aren’t going to fit or function properly.  It’s helpful to know the measurements of the room and the measurements of your furniture.  I like to draw a floor plan.
  3.  Give yourself enough walking space.  I have certainly made due with cramped walking paths in my bedroom.  It is possible to be relaxed in a room regardless of that issue.  However,  it is not much fun stubbing your toes and bumping your elbows because you are squeezing through a 14 inch wide walking space.  I currently have my bed against my wall to prevent this problem.  However, having a bed against the wall may not be very functional if two people are sleeping in the bed.
  4. A daybed may be a good idea if you sleep alone and also use your room as a livingroom.  It can function as a couch, and you don’t have to unfold it like a sofa or futon.  If you have a twin bed (made to sleep one) already and don’t want to pay for a daybed, you can pretty much convert your bed into a daybed by propping up pillows against the wall.  Miko Daybed with Trundle - 1457-010, 1457-020, 1457-030
  5. Storage ottomans, storage benches, trunks, and chests are perfect for multipurpose spaces.  First and foremost, they obviously function for storage.  They can go beyond that though.  You can turn the ottoman into a table or altar by placing a tray on top of it.  The top of a storage bench could be used as seating for yourself, but it could also be used as a book shelf, place for a pet bed, or a desk top if you don’t mind sitting on the floor (there are cushions for that).  I use a cedar chest for my primary altar.
  6. Having clearly designated spaces can make a difference in how you feel while in your room.  Having a canopy around the bed might help some people to feel more snug.  You could place a chair by the window as a spot for morning reading.  Be careful not to turn that chair into a place for clothes to be draped over though, because that can easily cause an unintentional repurposing of the space.  Turning areas into laundry spots is a bad habit of mine.  Having clearly designated areas within the room can make the flow seem more like you are moving from room to room within the same room.  Without the aesthetic separation, the room is more likely to feel cluttered.
  7. If you have a laptop that you often leave on sleep mode, you might want to tuck it out of sight by sliding it under your bed at night.  When I have my laptop closed while on sleep mode, it has a light that flashes on the side.  That can annoy me while I’m trying to sleep.
  8. Colors and decor can really make a difference in making a room feel like it is yours.  If you love pottery, be sure to find a place to display at least one piece of pottery.  I have a triquetra wall hanging that is only maybe 10-12 inches tall, but it totally transforms the room for me.  It makes my sacred space feel more sacred.  Incorporate your favorite colors with bedding, drapery, decorative flowers, etc. if you can’t change the wall color.
  9. Mirrors can brighten a room and thus make it seem larger.  This is particularly for rooms with windows.  The light from the window shines onto the mirror and the mirror reflects that light into the room.
  10. Remember to be practical with your design.  If you have a cat with claws, it is probably best not to decorate with expensive fabrics.  My Dad got a love seat that had upholstery made essentially of woven yarn.  The cat decided it was a scratching post.  Your fancy fabrics aren’t worth investing in if they won’t stay pretty for long.

I hope this post proves helpful to at least one person.  Blessed be, ya’ll.

Leave a Reply

