It Has Arrived

41y9a24otpl-_sx326_bo1204203200_
cover image from Amazon

I got my copy of The Witches’ Goddess this past Thursday.  It seemed to have gotten a bit bent (as in arched pages) during shipping.  Other than that, it is a nice copy.  I quickly read a short chapter from it.  It was not the first chapter.  It was a chapter about the Bright Goddess and the Dark Goddess (IE. the dual nature of Goddess).  It discussed how the Dark Goddess is misunderstand by those in patriarchal religious societies.  Many view her as evil because they associate darkness to such.  She is not evil though.  She is Goddess of the unseen, and the unseen is often feared because it is often unknown.   She inspires us to explore our inner depths.  This is a task not everybody is willing to accept.

It can be scary to accept such a task when we are hammered with the philosophy that we should focus only on what is in the light and not told that we ourselves can create light within dark spaces.  The second half of that sentence was not something I read in the book, but something of my own thinking.  That seems like something I should create another post about.  It is possible I have already written about that.  Anyway, that chapter was right up my ally.  I was intrigued.

I didn’t take the book with me to my grandmother’s house this weekend.  It would have been nice to explore the pages while snowed in, but I was not about to read that in front of a southern granny.  Instead, I left the book (a paperback copy) pressed between two hardback books.  Hopefully doing so will get rid of the arch in the pages.  If not, hopefully it will at least reduce the arch.  That’s all for now.  Blessed be, y’all.

One thought on “It Has Arrived

Leave a Reply

