Honey Instead of Vinegar

There is so much anger in the world.  I cannot pretend that I am never angry.  It is a natural emotion that is bound to occur.  However, we condemn our success when we try to convert people to our ways of thought through the use of anger and shaming.  Yesterday I heard someone shame every Christian who eats meat.  The anger, shaming, and mockery have polluted facebook lately due to political controversy.  There are mommy shamers who are quick to point out “bad mothers” on the basis of a different parenting style or the inability to be perfect.   There are people who treat overweight people like targets for insults allegedly hoping that hurtful comments will inspire heavy people to get into shape.

There is a saying, “You’ll catch more flies with honey than vinegar.”  Although I don’t know if that is true in a literal sense, it definitely applies to convincing people to see things from your perspective.  If you want people to seriously consider your perspective, you should talk to them with a considerate tone.  Considerate, but not patronizing.  If you find yourself getting frustrated that “these idiots” or “scum” refuse to see things from your perspective, ask yourself “Have I tried to see things from their perspective?” and “How am I presenting myself to them?”  I realize that calming ourselves enough to think rationally isn’t always an easy task.  However, it seems to me that the world would be a more peaceful place if we all applied this.  It seems like more things would get done for progress because people would spend less time bickering.

Blessed be, y’all.

4 thoughts on “Honey Instead of Vinegar

  1. Facebook can be a depressing place. We share similar view on the topic. I surprisingly largely avoid the negative comments. I have two Facebook pages one with my full name and one with my nickname. I use one for visiting Spiritual sites, and it has less family. Facebook should have a way for people to Like Pages without the judgment of family, to post on Public Pages without having it show up in everyone’s feed. Just certain groups feeds. Facebook should offer more privacy and ways to divide the main feed into people you want to see versus those you don’t.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree. It isn’t everybody’s business what I like or comment on other people’s pages. Facebook has lists that will only show posts of yours to those on that list, yet everybody can still see what you like with no option to hide that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

