Donkeys

donkey-fence-nature-outside-70369
Adorable Donkey

I had a dream in which I was left outside of my brother’s house (my actual brother’s house which used to belong to our grandparents) to stay on a twin bed/cot that was placed at the top of the driveway in sight of the door.  For some reason I found it acceptable to be left outside overnight waiting for them (my bro and his family) to get back home.  This was until I discovered a storm was coming.  Not like a tornado level storm, but like a dark skies with straight line winds kind of storm.  Then I became annoyed I had been left outside.  I heard loud bangs (as if the house was getting pelted a bit, and I decided there was no way I was staying out in the storm.  I managed to get inside the house somehow.  I don’t recall if I had a key or if the door was unlocked already.  When I got inside I noticed that apparently my brother and his wife had adopted two donkeys and put them in a rather small uncovered pin attached to the house (I could see the pin from the living room window).  Fearing the storm, the two donkeys had managed to get under the house and knock up floor boards with their heads.  They stuck their heads through the floor so that they could fully stand up and still have the shelter of the roof.  They were frantic though.  I realized they were the cause of at least some of the banging I had heard.  I believe I noticed one starting to pop up boards in the hallway floor before it noticed me and came back the living room area to stand with the other.  Although I don’t necessarily remember hearing the donkeys holler, it seems they were doing so quite a bit.  I decided to reach down and gently pet each of them.  They became happy once I did so, releasing their fear.  They just needed somebody to center them enough to realize they were safe.  I was happy to have the privilege to pet them (because donkeys are incredibly adorable).  Something else I seemed to notice about the house was that much of the furnishings were missing.  It was as if they were not finished moving in or had removed their furniture to make room or in order to be replaced.

I admit the donkey element of this dream could have something to do with my love for donkeys.  For the past year or two they have been one of my favorite animals.  I shriek “Donkeys!” when I see them in a field as the car passes.  I encountered one for the first time in person that I recall a year or two ago.  It was love at first sight.  They are cute like kittens to me.  That is saying something because I am a cat lady to the level of my maternal instinct kicking in more for cats than children.  It makes me sad that I can’t pet them when one runs up to a fence to look at me but is out of my reach (because I don’t want to trespass).   Recently one picked up a stick in its mouth and stared at me like it wanted to play fetch.  Oh how my heart broke at not being able to play fetch with that donkey.  My significant other actually bred two Mudbrays (donkey Pokemon) for me as a Valentine’s Day gift. Once again, the fact that he gave me those Mudbrays last night could have influenced the dream.  However, it seems I may have taken them on as a kind of spirit animal (not totem though).  So let’s look at Donkey’s message.

According to shamanicjourney.com :

Donkey is symbolic of versatility, intelligence, eager worker, determination, stubbornness, spiritual dedication, undying faith in the creative force, willingness to take on board the responsibilities and burdens of others (beast of burden).

Donkey’s have long been misrepresented and misunderstood by the ignorant masses. First domesticated roughly 4,500 years ago, they were regarded to be a status symbol for their owners. Versatile, eager workers with a kind nature and gentle intelligence donkeys can live for 40 years plus.

Donkeys colors range from white, grey to brown. In general they have white muzzles, rings around their eyes and light bellies. Some donkeys have markings on their back that look like a cross. Some have leg stripes. Various tales tell of how the donkey came to get the cross on their back. Some cultures believe the Lord rode the donkey and got the stripes on their legs from walking through the palm branches that were laid in their path as a mark of respect for the responsibility of whom they was carrying. Some tales imply the donkey was sent by God and the Prophet was carried to the heavens on its back.

The donkey is an indefatigable worker and personifies the qualities of determination and service to others. They have a deep dedication to the universe/All That Is. Donkeys are willing to take on the responsibilities and burdens of others. If this is your power animal, although helping others is wonderful, taking on more than one can carry with ease can pave the way for physical and emotional problems. Mastering the art of saying no, and being accountable for yourself and your own well being is a life lesson.

Not keen on change, donkeys can come across as stubborn. If anything seems dangerous to them – they absolutely won’t do it. However, this isn’t because they are stubborn, but because they trust, respect and listen to their own intuitive senses. They know their boundaries, what they can and cant do. This shows us how to trust, respect and listen to our own personal intuition also.

The donkey evolved in the desert, the irregular, testing land in where they resided learned them how to go about with caution. The frightened donkey would stop dead in its tracks without moving a muscle or run a short distance, before looking at what frightened them. They developed devious and cunning survival skills by getting themselves out of many sticky situations. If donkey plods into your life, hold on and consider what is challenging you and look for a way to progress safely. This is an outstanding power animal to have and a skillful master teacher.

Donkey have big, funnel like ears that can pick up sound a long way off. They know the messages held within each sound, showing us how to listen and awaken our clairvoyant abilities. You are being asked to awaken, develop or utilize your own latent, inherent abilities in one or more aspects of your life.

It certainly seems that Donkey could work for me as a spirit animal/power animal/animal messenger.  In terms of the dream I had, I could interpret it to mean that I am capable of taking care of myself despite fear or apparent limitations.  The dream could be reminding me how important it is to take care of myself and not just accept senseless limitations that have been given to me (by myself or others).  I need to take a moment to do something that soothes me so that I can feel safe whenever I find myself becoming panicked.  That last message is something I have known about myself for a while.  I have also had to make efforts to not take on too much of other people’s emotional baggage.  Although I find it a wonderful quality to be a caring person, it doesn’t really help anybody if I allow myself to be injured from carrying too much emotional weight.  Sympathy instead of empathy.  The message of Donkey also seems to be assuring me that it is okay that I don’t move as quickly as others through life.  It is okay that I take my time and am cautious.  That is comforting because I am what many would call a “late bloomer” in terms of leaving the nest.  In cooperation with my totem (spider), I don’t feel the need to rush out of a comfortable and safe web that has been woven.  I know the time will come when I have to move to a new web.  I want to make that web as well-constructed as possible though before making it my home.

Peace and love to you all.

8 thoughts on “Donkeys

    1. I have decided to call my roommate’s cat’s vet about it tomorrow. My eldest sister debated that if cats are not dying right and left due to the lemon essential oil in many organic cleaners, it might not be a big problem to diffuse a little. However, I will have to check with the vet first because if I am wrong and Lulu gets sick, I would feel horrible about it. My eldest sister would feel bad about it too. That she had advised me thus. So the responsibility is in my hands until I call the vet then it is in their hopefully better-educated hands to research.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. You remember so much of that dream. Last night I dreamed that my throat hurt because I have a sore throat. My nephew laughing loudly woke me, so I drank Lemon/Honey hot water. That made my throat feel better and me able to sleep more deeply. My nephew is home from school with a cold today. His Mom, however, has Monday’s off work. I had to cancel my Meetup because I did not want to spread the illness. I am dranking Lemon/Honey hot water again. It helps the top of my throat but somehow helps my sinuses as well. My deep sinuses are stuffed. No runny nose, but congestion.

    On Wednesday, or if I am lucky tomorrow, an essential oil defuser/humidifier will come in the mail. Many days ago I randomly decided to order one but canceled because Winter was almost over. As I was moving at the end of July, I felt I shouldn’t buy it. Well, this congestion made me realize I should have trusted my instincts. It would have been here on Sunday if I had. The very day my sinuses started to feel off.

    I ordered some essential oils that are supposed to help with sinuses, and I will be seeing if the good reviews are justified. Otherwise, I will get some from a local shop that I know are good quality.

    I discovered that some essential oils help with seasonal allergies too. So I might have a good smelling room until Summer. Hopefully, the cheap oils are effective enough. As I have mild allergies I do not want a prescription that makes me sleepy. I look for natural ways to handle allergies like local honey and neti pots. (Only I know how to use a mug in place of a neti pot.)

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I attempting to do some research on this. I concluded I will ask my sister who has dogs. The cat I live with will scratch the bottom of any door she can not get through. I might have to return the essential oils and use the humidifier.

        Like

          1. You are welcome. I didn’t initially know either. I long hot bath or long steamy shower are great if you have chest congestion though, and essential oils work nicely in a bath. Can help with muscles and relaxation as well as breathing. Just rinse tub out after if you are worried about cat messsing around in there.

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

