A Day for Reading a Book

pexels-photo-46274

I have books that seemed to call to me to be purchased yet are rarely opened.  There are three books in particular that really “called” to me which I have slacked on reading.  Those three are:

  • The Temple of Shamanic Witchcraft by Christopher Penczak
  • Wicca for Beginners by Thea Sabin
  • The Witches’ Goddess by Janet and Stewart Farrar

Today I have been reading Wicca for Beginners.  It seems fitting after watching a documentary last night about how Gerald Gardner founded Wicca.  Although I don’t consider myself Wiccan, the religion does provide a foundation for modern witches to learn from.  There are also certainly aspects of the religion that jive with me.  Some of its basic principles that I connect with are:

  • Divine is too large and transcendent for us to fully comprehend.  Thus, Wiccans perceive Deity in different facets/aspects.
  • Psychic abilities are real and innate within each of us.
  • Magic is real.  To practice magic (or magick, as I prefer to spell it) is to create change in accordance with one’s will.
  • Sex is sacred.  Thus, sexual relationships should be approached with consideration.
  • An ye harm none, do as ye will.  Or in other words; Do your own thing as long as you are not behaving like a horrible person.

As you may have assumed, I finished reading the chapter on Wiccan principles before typing this post.  I believe I have read from the next chapter before.  It is about the fundamental energy tools of grounding, visualization, and and shielding.  I figure it will be good to reread that information.

I hope you are all having a lovely day.  Perhaps somebody else will be inspired to dust off a book and open it.

One thought on “A Day for Reading a Book

  1. I walked 3 miles today… was a bit to cold to go for 6. I caught a Gyarados. I was very lucky because the moment I stepped off the bus to get to a coffee shop (and warm up) it spawned right next to me. So I will be doing less book reading and more audiobook listening along with walking. My sister who lives in New York is flying in tomorrow. I will see if I can get her to walk with me. (She likes long walks too.) Tomorrow is supposed to be warmer in Ann Arbor and parts of the day will be without rain.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

