The Storms We Have Weathered

pexels-photo-29095

Earlier today I remembered the short period of my life when I suffered from PMDD (premenstrual dysphoric disorder).  I was blessed that I was able to see a doctor and get it sorted out before too much time passed.  A couple of cycles of crying over things like not being able to find the right flatware was enough to convince my Dad I needed help.  Remembering that period from a decade ago made me feel thankful for the passing of that storm.  There have surely been several other storms that I have weathered, and I am thankful for the passing of each of those.

I think most of us go through times in which we just don’t know how we are going to get through whatever it is we are dealing with.   There are at least millions of people dealing with problems so great I cannot fathom the strength it takes for them to march on.  I know the gratitude that comes from surviving a storm.  I also believe that remembering times we survived storms can help us weather storms to come.  This means that not only do hard times help us to be grateful by showing us a contrast, they can help make us realize our strength.

Next time you are feeling weak or lost, I ask that you remember how strong you have been so that you will realize the strength you are capable of.  May you all be blessed upon your journeys, and find shelter during your storms.

2 thoughts on “The Storms We Have Weathered

  1. I woke up on the wrong side of the bed today. Grumpy for no good reason. Trying to flip this unexplained grump around. I guess it is because yesterday I got to take my morning medication (which includes a small antidepressant) and didn’t remember until I couldn’t turn around to take it (work.) As I have two morning medications if I forget to take them my energy and mood are haywire the next day. One is for my thyroid so my energy can be off balance for a short while and the other is an antidepressant so my mood can be off balance (crying or generally grumpy.) Withdrawal even such a short one is no joke.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

