When the Universe Throws Your Phone

Did the Universe throw my phone?  I will let you decide.

Basically a year ago my phone charger broke.  I ordered a new charger.  As soon as I tried that charger, the usb port for the charger no longer worked.  So I figured out I could use an external battery charger.  I got an extra battery and for probably a year have been keeping my phone charged by switching between two batteries.  The method works fine for me.  However, shortly after I got the charger situation worked out, my phone got its first scratch/crack on the screen.  On my birthday a couple months ago, it got it’s second crack.  A little piece of the backplate also chipped off around that time.  I ordered a replacement plate for it.  It didn’t fit right in one corner so I resigned to just continue using the one with the small piece broken off.  Then my charger broke.  I rigged it to work long enough for me to get a replacement charger in the mail.  I used it quite happily for a week or so.  Then…yesterday….

My purse I have been carrying is  mini backpack.  It has a drawstring top and a flap that velcros shut.  I secured the purse before heading out to a consignment store.  I had the bag on my back, over one shoulder.  I was walking happily along the sidewalk in front of the store.  Then I heard it.  WHAM!  I looked behind me and my phone had fallen face down on the pavement.  The impact was so strong it actually knocked the backplate off the phone.  My screen was shattered.  The screen doesn’t even light up anymore.  The phone screen is super dead.  I can’t even move the files on the phone’s internal memory to the sd card because of that.  (Obviously I can’t plug it into my computer either since the phone usb port is damanged.)  Hopefully no favorite photos or important notes were on the phone memory.  I know I had an interesting dream detailed in a note, but I suppose not much else was that important on it.

For the past year it seems like I either have had shite luck with my phone OR the Universe had been trying to nudge me to get another phone.  If the second, I guess the Universe decided to “HULK SMASH!” the phone to make sure I got the message this time. Why the Universe wants me to get a new phone, I do not know for sure.

Of course my fella (who is in another state) is quite anxious over me not having a phone until the new one arrives.  (It’s an older model phone that is listed as new in box.)  It stresses him not to have instant contact with me (since I don’t intend to sit at the computer all day).  He is afraid there will be an emergency and he won’t know/won’t be able to get in touch with me quickly.  Although he is concerned about it, it isn’t the biggest deal to me to wait until Friday without a cell phone.  I think maybe that was part of what the Universe wanted was to get me to spend less time “attached” to my phone for the time being.  Society has forgotten that people existed without the masses having cell phones until the 21st century.  We have become so reliant on them that people lose their shit if somebody doesn’t respond to them within an hour of texting or calling.  It has become a bit like an electronic leash in that way.     You can’t just go about your day without your phone on you or beside you because goodness forbid you be out of reach for half a day.  It’s kinda sad and frustrating.

That all being said, I do love having a good cell phone to watch youtube with while I am in bed, text my guy, and have around for quick emergency contact.  Of course I also need it to make phone calls.  I ordered the phone I wanted at Christmas.  It is the upgrade right after the model of phone I have enjoyed since 2012.  The phone was like $20 cheaper than it was at Christmas, so that is a plus.  Hopefully it arrives in new condition like listed and there are no problems with it.  Hopefully the case and screen protectors I ordered work very well with it.  I am pretty happy to be getting an upgrade.

Blessed be, y’all.

One thought on “When the Universe Throws Your Phone

  1. I am most joyious about my phone too. Hope it works out for you this time.

    I tend to hold onto technology long past the USE BY DATE. Love my computer too and hope it lasts me many years to come. Hope my phone lasts longer than my iPod Touch did. (That started having battery issues, but still gruedingly works.) When it is time to replace my computer, I might switch to an iPad Pro with a keyboard. Yet, I am continuously attempting to manifest that iPad Pro… it could arrive at any moment.

    My computer still works pretty well but freezes for a long time on different internet pages (with the broswer listed as not​-responding​) so I get fears that it will not last forever.

    It is doing much better than my past computer did at its age of over 5 years old.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

